A bit of awesome “Sci-Fi” Music.

Posted: November 20, 2010 in ChDV's life, Music, Technology
Tags: , , ,

When I was a child, I loved listening to some good bed-time stories. All my close relatives used to read me the best stories over and over, every single night. My parents were putting me to sleep with the greatest selection from bibliographies of the most prominent Russian/Soviet children’s writers, such as Korney Chukovsky (wrote all-Russia famous masterpieces Wash’em’cleanThe CrocodileThe Giant Roach, and, of course, my favorite, Doctor Aybolit) and Samuil Marshak (most famous for his What an absent-minded guy), my aunt was “brainwashing” me with the old fairy tails from classic Russian folklore, my grandma treated me with fairy tales written by classic European children’s authors (such as Brothers Grimm), and my grandpa was (and still is) an oldschool Soviet version of a geek with strong nerdy obsessions, so he read me 1950’s – 1980’s hardcore Sci-Fi novels.

As we all know, at the age of 4-8, child’s brain still undergoes various stages of development, and, therefore, it has a very high “flexibility”, so the high-dose exposures to any information might impact on child’s personality for the rest of his life. I wasn’t an exception!

I’ve been loving science fiction for as long as I remember. I always felt thrilled by the concept of Futurism and all the things that don’t exist but theoretically possible. I often tend to imagine certain aspects of our daily life in 10, 20, 50, 100, 2500 years from now.

Well, I mean, science fiction is great!!! Especially the 1950’s – 1960’s stuff (The Golden Age of Sci-Fi), when the World was evaluating all the aspects of entering into the Atomic Age and into the Age of Space Exploration, with all the subsequent “byproducts” (such as Philosophies about moving within spacetime continuum and extraterrestrial life).

Sci-fi influenced almost everything. The new forms of art were born. Futurism, for example, which later had a spin-off in form of Retro-futurism (it’s, like, when modern people try to replicate the view on future technologies by the eyes of 1960’s – 1970’s people… or imagine what would modern technologies look like if they were invented back in those times).

In music there are certain genres that remind me of science fiction and retro-futurism, and most of them fall into the category of electronic dance music (EDM for short). Well, the examples that I’m posting here today (all of them were released in early-mid 1990’s) aren’t exactly danceable (they might be though, under right circumstances). If you try to classify them, you’ll probably get something intermediate between early forms of trance, ambient techno, electro and ambient breaks. And I’m not completely sure whether the authors of this kind of music took an inspiration directly from sci-fi, or whether they were just trying to replicate the sounds produced by TB303 played by hippies who were f*cked-up on LSD, but, gosh! It sounds hypnotically awesome!!!!!

Listening to this music makes me think of the worlds created by Asimov and Strugatsky Brothers, and imagine everything related to giant robots, spaceships, artificial intelligence, timetravelling, infinite energy sources, technocratic societies, cyborgs, engineering/modification of human genome, extraterrestrial life forms and a few hundreds of other similar concepts.

So, sit back, relax, and enjoy the sound of technology!

Orbital – Remind (you can start listening from 0:50)

Dance 2 Trance – We Came In Peace (1991 Mix) (you can start listening from 2:00)

Paul Van Dyk – Words (this track also has a more danceable version, which is one of my favorite tracks ever)

Morphadron – Aquila 303

LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

