Modern cell phone industry – it’s so boring!

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Technology

I think that the phone market has become dull and boring since the release of iPhone in 2007. In terms of competition, I mean.

Before that, it was interesting to read the news about new gadgets from Nokia, Sony Ericsson, Samsung, etc. Compare them, observe all the “Holy wars” on different web-forums. The dynamics in the industry was incredibly entertaining.

There were no ultimate handsets. Everything was quite equal, and each company had its own hits in different price categories.

I remember my first cell phone. It was Motorola C380, which I got as a present from my parents back in 2004.

I was so happy with this toy back then. It had polyphonic ringtones :). It also had 1.8 MB of internal memory, more than a half of which I loaded with ringtones (the most popular ones were Usher – Yeah, Bomfunk MC’s – Freestyler, Black Eyed Peas – Let’s Get It Started… they weren’t mp3 yet, just polyphonic MIDI).

Then I had Sony Ericsson K300i

It was equip with 12 MB of inbuilt memory and it could play mp3-ringtones.

At that time, in 2004-2005, we had an intense “whose cell phone is cooler” competition within our school. My K300i was holding the second place by features in our class :) (the first was some Samsung model, don’t remember which one exactly, but I remember that it had 64 MB of inbuilt memory against my 12).

There were a super high-end handsets that everybody was dreaming about. For, example, do you remember such wonder as Sony Ericsson K750i? It was such a popular topic among my friends. A hi-end business class model that everybody wanted.

I’m not completely sure about this (and I’m too lazy to check), but I heard that this model was the most commercially successful Sony Ericsson phone in the company’s history.

Motorola RAZR V3 was also amongst the top-class cell phones that everybody was talking about back in those days.

There were lots of other interesting models.

The competition was quite intense.

The last notable handset of that era was Nokia N95 (released in 2006). My mum got one when we moved to Australia.

But after the introduction of iPhone in January 2007, the situation on the market turned dull and boring.

Apple’s phone was so advanced and aesthetically perfect that no other model could compare to it. Everything that has been happening since then, is the tendency of other companies to catch up with Job’s creation by releasing major “iPhone killers” every few months, or so, which, on practice, were nothing but garbage that could only be describe as parodies on iPhone.

The situation is slowly changing, with all these new Google Android based smartphones (such as Samsung Galaxy S and Nexus S) as well as a couple of Windows Phone 7 based devices, but still…. They can hardly compete with iPhone 3GS, which is 1.5 years old now.

I can’t tell if this situation is going to change in the next couple of years. I truly want to see something that can serve as a true alternative to iPhones, I really want to see that competition on the market again that we were able to observe back in 2003-2006. I miss that atmosphere….

But for now, I’ll just stick to my iPhone 4 and try not to feel so sorry for everyone who doesn’t have one :)

Comments
  1. pasha34 says:

    Thnks. Very Good Site.

Leave a Reply

