My worst fear.

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Just for LULz

Yesterday, I uploaded a new profile picture on Facebook. I was sitting in front of my computer for 3 hours, staring at notification icon. Nobody liked it.

Soon, I started to have some doubts. I started to worry. “Why has nobody liked it?” – I thought –  “Why has nobody even commented on it? Is it a sign that they all hate me? What if they find me insignificant? No, they’re all probably just away and haven’t seen it yet. But… still, there are over 70 people online. Why do they do this to me?”

I opened a new tab in my browser and clicked on the address bar. I heisted. Soon, I realized that I forgot what I was going to do. I sat there for another 3 minutes, or so, looking at the screen. My vision was unfocused, and my thoughts were disorganised.

I went back to Facebook. Still, there were no likes or comments on my new profile picture. I felt worthless.

I knew that I needed something to grab my attention away, so I went to Google Reader to look up some blog updated. I started reading some random posts, but soon I realised that I was unable to concentrate. All my thoughts were occupied by my new profile picture.

I went back to Facebook. Still, there were no likes.

I felt like fainting. My mouth was dry. I also started experiencing some chest pain.

“This is not fair” – I mumbled, trying not to burst into tears – “This is not fair…”

I knew what needed to be done.

Profile pictures -> Delete this photo -> Are you sure you want to delete this photo? -> Confirm.

After 5 seconds, I was like “OMG! What have I done!? Everyone, probably, saw what I just did. They must think I’m weak!” I started to think of the way to quickly restore this picture. My hands were shaking and my palms were covered in sweat. I didn’t know what to do.

“Ah! Screw this sh*t!” – I said out loud.

Account -> Account settings -> Deactivate account -> Deactivate……. -> Confirm.

Leave a Reply

